0 users online

Ryan Sessegnon crowned Football League and Young Player of the Year

last updated Thursday 01st March 2018, 11:33 PM

Fulham Football Club

Ryan Sessegnon
Fulham defender
Ryan Sessegnon
Ryan Sessegnon
His Wiki page
Fulham starlet Ryan Sessegnon has been named EFL Player of the Year at the London Football Awards.

The 17-year-old has continued to impress at Craven Cottage this term, scoring 13 goals in 34 Championship appearances.

Eight of those strikes have come since the turn of the year in a spell which has helped propel Fulham to fifth in the table with seven wins and two draws from their last nine league fixtures.

Sessegnon's performances have caught the eye of a number of Premier League clubs, including Tottenham and both Manchester sides, and he is also being monitored by England ahead of the World Cup.

The winger, who has been at Fulham at the age of eight, beat Brentford pair Romaine Sawyers and Josh Clarke to the award, while Millwall's George Saville and Alex Smithies of QPR were also nominated.

Sessegnon is highly likely move on in the summer if the Fulham fail to win promotion to the Premier League and is valued at around £50million by the Championship club.

Fulham FC statement
Ryan Sessegnon
Fulham defender
Ryan Sessegnon
Ryan Sessegnon has been crowned twice at the London Football Awards on Thursday evening.

The 17-year-old was up for Football League and Young Player of the Year, and he walked away with the trophy in each category.

Sessegnon was up against Brentford duo Josh Clarke and Romaine Sawyers, Millwall’s George Saville, and Queens Park Rangers goalkeeper Alex Smithies for the Football League accolade.

His success means a Fulham player has won the trophy for three years in a row, following Moussa Dembélé and Tom Cairney in 2016 and 2017, respectively.

Sess faced fierce competition for the Young Player of the Year award, and was in fact the only nominee who doesn’t play for a Premier League side. Andreas Christensen (Chelsea), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal), Davinson Sanchez and Harry Winks (both Tottenham Hotspur) were the men beaten.

Slaviša Jokanovic was up for Manager of the Year, but he was pipped to the accolade by Roy Hodgson.

Source Tom Dutton at Evening Standard/Fulham FC
Since 1998
"It's been updated!"